top of page

FMP - Week 1 (Valkyrie)

Research and planning

Day 1-3

Ok so I've now moved on from Bastet for now so to begin the next character which will be the Valkyire. This was my original mood board with my base ideas and inspiration:

My purpose for this character was to show my skill in hard surface modelling with some armour as well as some organic wings. After spending a day or two this week researching and collating references etc I have come to these two ideas.

Fantasy theme:

Sci-fi theme:

I was please with both of these ideas but after talking with peers and tutors I knew that the fantasy theme idea had definitely been done before and I would also be in my comfort zone as it's a similar process to my Deep Guard character. So, I'm going to push myself by trying to do a sci-fi character which I havent done before.

I will be taking a lot of inspiration from the top right concept by Sungryun Park, found here https://www.artstation.com/sungryunpark.

I wanted to go for a more armoured, warrior aesthetic so to practice hard surface so my friend Archie Whitehead offered to do a concept for me and itswhat i'm going to try and stick to for my design.

Here is my current block out of the base antomy and helmet so far, 3 days in:

I'm goin for a more exagerated physique with a small waist and longer legs (around 8 1/2 heads). Looking at it now i think i need to push her silhouette more so wident the hips and thighs and bring her waist in maybe a tad.

I have collected reference for her wings too and I think i;m going to go for the more traditional swan wings with more of an exaggerated shape and maybe curl them around her like the concept but I'm not sure how that would affect her side silhouette so I will have to do some block outs.

Here is my mood board for the wings:

Blockout & Ideas

Day 3-5

So for the past 2 days this week I've been blocking out more of the character and trying to nail the forms before start to add more detail. I've also been getting back into the swing of hard surface modelling on the helmet before I crack on with the main armour pieces.

Every Friday we also have a critique session which is super helpful as it means other people can pick out all the stuff thats out of place that I cant really see as I've been looking at the character too long. So after the crit session I needed to work on a few things:

Really work on the arms to give them a better shape and form (noodly atm)

Give her more of a relaxed pose

Turn feet outward slightly

Narrow the shoulders to give her more of a feminine figure

Widen the hips and add to the outer thighs

Face is kinda lumpy and wide at the moment, narrow the temples and jaw

Lower eyelids and eyes

Define neck muscle

And bring nasolabial crease in slightly.

Here is the before and after of the suit/body changes:

Here is my progress overall so far:


bottom of page