top of page

FMP - Week 4 (Valkyrie)

Polish and clean up before baking

Day 1-3

So I had planned for my high poly to be finished this week which it thankfully almost is. I have unwrapped all the Armour and suit pieces and I've just started on the accessories. I am going to finish up the face and begin on the wings tomorrow. I got some feedback in my presentation that i really need to focus on my wings merging and complementing the main character. I have done another iteration on the pose as they said it was quite meh and I think I need to stop and just pick an idea and crack on with it.

So this is what I've decided on

Some helpful crit I got back was about her posture, and although this is a very rough idea I do need to watch out for this when I'm rigging and posing her.

Day 3-5

Feathers woo

Ok so I got hold of this really good free feather tutorial http://www.zbrushguides.com/zbrush-feathers-tutorial/ by Pablo Munoz which had a handful of different techniques to create feathers in zbrush. I used the fibremesh technique to create the individual strands of hair on each feather. I knew that I wanted about 5 different feathers for the whole wing when I had researched the swan wings and he also explained the positioning too:

Here are the finished zbrush feathers I made:

So I was happy with these designs and I wanted to do a test bake to see if there was any errors and unfortunately there is. So im not too sure why this is but when I bake and render in zbrush there's some odd clumping that happens that transfers into the normals/bake.

So this is the error:

Which I'm pretty sure is caused by these cloudy white parts in zbrush:

I don't know specifically why this has happened but I think I will just thin out that area and try to separate the individual barbs so they aren't so clumped together.

However in my other feathers it looks like there aren't any errors so once I've fixed that feather I will unwrap and test bake them all together.

This weekend im going to finish of the head high poly and then all I need to do is unwrap the rest of the accessories and head and then im all set to bake the main character etc.


bottom of page